Proof of Work vs Proof of Stake: Wichtigsten Unterschiede

Proof of Work vs Proof of Stake: Wichtigsten Unterschiede


Zurück zu Neu beim Nirolution Blockchain Tutorial Blog

Proof of Work vs Proof of Stake: Wichtigsten Unterschiede

Worin besteht der Unterschied zwischen Proof of Work und Proof of Stake? Vielleicht hast du schon einmal von Proof of Work im Zusammenhang mit Blockchain gehört. Aber wusstest du, dass es eine andere Methode gibt, den sogenannten Proof of Stake? In diesem Artikel werden wir dir den Unterschied zwischen Proof of Work und Proof of Stake zeigen. Wir werden dir auch klären, welche Methode für die Zukunft relevanter ist.

„Unterschied zwischen Proof of Work und Proof of Stake“ – Content:

  1. Entwicklung des Proof of Work
  2. Was ist Proof of Work?
  3. Wie funktioniert Proof of Work?
  4. Vorteile des Proof of Work
  5. Nachteile des Proof of Work
  6. Was ist der 51% Angriff?
  7. Was ist Proof of Stake
  8. Wie funktioniert Proof of Stake?
  9. Vorteile des Proof of Stake
  10. Nachteile des Proof of Stake
  11. “Proof of Work vs Proof of Stake” – Fazit

Entwicklung des Proof of Works?

Die Idee des Proof of Works gab es schon lange vor Bitcoin. Nur wenige wissen, dass Satoshi Nakamoto nicht der Erfinder dieser Idee ist. Tatsächlich waren es Cynthia Work und Moni Naor, die 1993 dieses Konzept entwickelt haben. Das Ziel war es, Hacker Angriffe wie einen Distributed Denial-of-Service (DDOS)-Angriff zu verhindern. Dabei wird versucht durch das Senden von gefälschte Anfragen die Ressourcen des Computers zu erschöpfen.

1999 haben Markus Jakobsson und Ari Juels den Begriff Proof of Work in einem Dokument veröffentlicht. Es ist die eigentliche geniale Erfindung hinter dem Bitcoin-Whitepaper von Nakamoto und ermöglicht uns ein dauerhaft transparentes, öffentliches und vollständiges Finanzbuch. Es ist ein Mechanismus um Einigkeit zwischen verteilten Parteien zu schaffen. Wir müssen deshalb nicht mehr einander, sondern nur noch dem System vertrauen.

Was ist Proof of Work?

Da nicht jeder im Netzwerk ehrlich ist, muss es einen Weg geben, Betrug zu verhindern. Um das Netzwerk zu sichern, validieren die Miner deshalbb eingehende Transaktionen und vermerken sie im Block. Sie alle konkurrieren dabei, indem sie ein kompliziertes kryptografisches Rätsel lösen. Die gefundene Lösung ist der Beweis, dass der Miner seine Arbeit zur Validierung der Transaktion geleistet hat. Der erste, der die Lösung findet, erhält eine Belohnung. Er bekommt zum Beispiel einen Ethere als Bezahlung. Wir nennen diesen Vorgang Mining. Du kannnst diesen Prozess für zwei Dinge im Netzwerk verwenden. Das erste ist die Überprüfung der Legitimität einer Transaktion. Zweitens, um eine neue digitale Währung zu schaffen, indem man Miner für die Durchführung der Transaktion belohnt.


Dieses mathematische Rätsel ist asymmetrisch. Das bedeutet, dass das Rätsel für die Miner schwer zu lösen sein muss. Aber gleichzeitig muss es für das Netzwerk leicht zu überprüfen sein, ob die Lösung richtig ist. Sie können das Rätsel nur durch zufälliges Ausprobieren lösen. Deshalb ist es sehr Aufwendig, die richtige Lösung zu finden. Wenn ein Miner die richtige Lösung findet, teilt er es dem gesamten Netzwerk mit und erhält eine Belohnung. Die Aufwand eines Miners, eingehende Transaktionen zu validieren und zu sichern, ist der Proof of Work.

Wie funktioniert Proof of Work?

.
Um ein Puzzel zu lösen muss z.B. der Hash eines Block Headers kleiner als ein Zielwert sein müssen. Daher nehmen die Nozes viele kleine Änderungen an ihrem Block Header vor, um den richtigen Hash zu finden. Bei jedem Versuch muss der MMiner den Hash für den gesamten Block Header berechnen. Dieser Prozess ist meist sehr intensiv und aufwendig.

Es ist wichtig zu wissen, dass die Arbeit, die in ein Rätsel investiert wird, keinen Einfluss auf die Wahrscheinlichkeit hat, dass ein Miner die aktuellen oder zukünftigen Rätsel löst. Der Grund dafür ist, dass die Rätsel unabhängig voneinander sind. Das bedeutet, dass ein Benutzer, wenn er einen fertigen und gültigen Block von einem anderen Benutzer erhält, seine aktuelle Arbeit verwerfen und stattdessen mit dem Aufbau des neu erhaltenen Blocks beginnen muss. Er tut das, weil er weiß, dass die anderen Miner ihren nächsten Block auch auf dem neu Block aufbauen.

Vorteile des Proof of Work

Der Vorteil des Proof of Work ist der Schutz der Blockchain. Dadurch wird das System gesichert und niemand kann betrügen. Folglich können wir dem Netzwerk vertrauen.
Zudem kann niemand das System austrickens. Das liegt daran, weil die Arbeit, die in ein Rätsel gesteckt wird nicht die Wahrscheinlichkeit erhöht das aktuelle oder zukünftige Rätsel zu lösen.
Ein weiterer Vorteil ist, dass dein Geld in der Blockchain nicht entscheidend ist. Wichtig ist nur wieviel Rechenleistung du zur Verfügung stellst. Folglich können reiche Menschen nicht das Netzwerk kontrollieren.

Nachteile des Proof of Work

Proof of Work verbraucht viel Rechenleistung und damit entstehen enorme Kosten. Das bedeutet, dass jemand mit einem besseren Computer schneller minen kann. Je höher also die Hash-Rate ist, desto besser ist die Chance das mathematische Rätsel zuerst zulösen. Dies führte dazu, dass riesige Miningfarmen gebaut werden. Miner versammeln sich hier, um ihre Chancen auf eine Belohnung zu erhöhen. Alle Miner des Pools erhalten bei erfolgreicher Validierung dann eine kleine Belohnung. Dies führt dazu, dass Blockchain stärker zentralisiert wird. Deshalb muss ein Weg gefunden werden, um eine Transaktion zu validieren.

Was ist der 51% Blockchain Angriff?

Ein 51%iger Angriff ist der Versuch, die Blockchain zu kontrollieren. Eine Person oder eine Organisation versucht also, 51% der Hash-Rate zu kontrollieren. Dadurch können sie die Transaktion ändern und rückgängig machen. Sie können auch entscheiden, wer neue Blöcke veröffentlichen darf. Sie haben also die Kontrolle über das gesamte Netzwerk.
Ein Angriff von 51 Prozent ist theoretisch möglich, aber praktisch unmöglich, da niemand über viel Rechenleistung verfügt. Selbst wenn es jemand schafft, wäre es das nicht wert. Der Grund dafür ist, dass sobald das Netzwerk davon erfährt, alle das System verlassen würden.

Was ist Proof of Stake?

Um zu vermeiden, dass wir mit Proof of Work zu zentralisiert werden, müssen wir eine bessere Lösung zur Validierung und Erstellung von Blöcken finden. Das versuchen wir mit Proof of Stake. Proof of Stake ist das Bemühen eines Miners, eingehende Transaktionen zu validieren und zu sichern. Der Miner heißt jetzt Validator und er wird auf deterministische Weise ausgewählt.

Dieses Modell basiert auf der Idee, dass je mehr jemand in das System investiert, desto weniger möchte er betrügen. Der Einsatz ist oft eine bestimmte Menge an Kryptowährung, die der Benutzer in das System investiert hat. Sobald der Einsatz einmal erfolgt ist, kann die Kryptowährung nicht mehr ausgegeben werden.


Um ein Validator zu werden, müsst du eine bestimmte Menge an Coins als Einsatz in das Netzwerk einzahlen. Die Höhe dieses Einsatzes bestimmt die Chancen eines Validators, den nächsten Block zu validieren. Je mehr man also invstiert, desto höher sind die Chancen, den nächsten Block zu validieren.


Das klingt unfair, denn es begünstigt diejenigen, die das meiste Geld einzahlen. Aber in Wirklichkeit ist es bei weitem fairer als Proof of Work. Die Kosten, um als Miner zu arbeiten verlaufen nicht linear. Stattdessen wird es umso billiger, je mehr sie kaufen. Das bedeutet, je reicher du bist desto mehr Macht besitzt du.

Wie funktioniert Proof of Stake?

Die Art und Weise wie wir den Stake in der Blockchain nutzen, kann variieren. Wir diskutieren im Folgenden vier Ansätze: Zufällige Auswahl von Benutzern mit einer Beteiligung, Abstimmung in mehreren Runden, Münz-Alterungssysteme und Delegiertensysteme. Unabhängig von der genauen Vorgehensweise gilt immer die Grundrege, dass Benutzer mit einer höheren Stakes einer höhere Chance haben einen neuen Block zu veröffentlichen.

Bei der Zufallsauswahl ist die Wahl einer Note zufällig. Die Blockchain wird sich also alle Benutzer mit einem Stake ansehen. Danach wird auf der Grundlage des Verhältnisses der eingesetzten Coins zum Gesamtbetrag ein Validierer ausgewählt.

Wenn es sich bei der Wahl des Validierers um ein Abstimmungssystem mit mehreren Runden handelt, steigt die Komplexität. Die Blockchain sucht mehrere Benutzer mit einer Beteiligung aus, um vorgeschlagene Blöcke zu erstellen. Dann müssen alle staked User für einen vorgeschlagenen Block abstimmen. Es können mehrere Abstimmungsrunden stattfinden, bevor über einen neuen Block entschieden wird.

Wenn die Wahl des Validierers über ein Münz-Alterssystem erfolgt, hat die staked Kryptowährung eine Alterseigenschaft. Nach einer gewissen Zeit können diese Coins auf den Benutzer, der den Block veröffentlicht, angerechnet werden. Die staked Kryptowährung wird dann zurückgesetzt und kann erst nach Ablauf der erforderlichen Zeit wieder verwendet werden.

Wenn die Wahl des Validierers über ein Delegiertensystem erfolgt, stimmen die Benutzer für Knoten, die Blöcke validieren dürfen. Das Stimmrecht der Benutzer ist also an ihren Anteil in der Blockchain gebunden. Das bedeutet, dass die Abstimmung umso mehr Gewicht hat, je größer der Anteil ist.

Vorteile des Proof of Stake?

Mit Proof of Stake brauchen wir nicht viel Rechenleistung, um unsere Blockchain zu sichern.
Deshalb brauchen wir auch nicht so viele neue Coins, um die Knoten zur Teilnahme am Netzwerk zu motivieren.
Proof of Stake kann auch das Risiko einer Zentralisierung verringern. Der Grund dafür ist, dass Equipment keine so große Rolle spielt.
Und schließlich können wir die Übernahme des Netzwerks teurer machen. Daher können wir 51% der Angriffe verhindern, weil es keinen finanziellen Anreiz mehr gibt.

Nachteile des Proof of Stake

Der Proof of Stake Algorithmus weist einige Mängel auf. Wenn du reich bist, erhälst du mehr Belohnungen. Das macht dich reicher und erhöht somit deine Chance, als Validierer zu arbeiten. Und noch problematischer ist, dass der Prüfer manchmal nicht auftaucht, um seine Arbeit zu erledigen. Proof of Stake ist besser als Proof of Work, wir müssen es aber noch optimieren,

Fazit

  • Das Ziel von Proof of Work ist Hacker Angriffe zu verhindern.
  • Die Lösung eines komplizierten kryptographischen Rätsels heißt Proof of Work.
  • Bei Proof of Stake wird der Validator zuvor ausgewählt. Die Auswahl hängt von der Größe seines Einsatzes ab.
  • Digitale Währungen werden zuvor erstellt und ihre Anzahl ändert sich nie.
  • Proof of Work ist besser als Proof of Stake, müssen wir es noch verbessern.

Wenn du über die neusten Artikel informiert werden möchtest, folge uns auf Facebook, Pinterest and Steemit.

Bleibe bei deinen Lieblingsthemen auf dem laufenden

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Menü schließen

Proof of Work vs Proof of Stake: Most Important Differences!

Proof of Work vs Proof of Stake: Most Important Differences!


Back to New at Nirolution Blockchain Blog

Proof of Work vs Proof of Stake: Most Important Differences!

So what is the difference between Proof of Work vs Proof of Stake. You probably might have heard of “Proof of Work” in context with blockchain. But did you know there is another method the so-called “Proof of Stake”? We will explain Proof of Work and Proof of Stake simply and also clarify which method is more relevant for the future.

“Proof of Work vs Proof of Stake” – Content:

  1. Evolution of Proof of Work
  2. What is Proof of Work?
  3. How does Proof of Work works?
  4. Advantages of Proof of Work
  5. Disadvantages of Proof of Work
  6. What is a 51% Attack?
  7. What is Proof of Stake
  8. How does Proof of Stake works?
  9. Advantages of Proof of Stake
  10. Disadvantages of Proof of Stake
  11. “Proof of Work vs Proof of Stake” – Summarized

Evolution of Proof of Work

The idea of Proof of Work existed even before Bitcoin. Only a few people know that Satoshi Nakamoto did not invent this type of protocol. In fact, it was Cynthia Work and Moni Naor who came up with this concept in 1993. The main goal was to deter cyber-attacks such as a distributed denial-of-service (DDOS) attack. They send several fake requests to exhaust the resources of the computer.

In 1999 Markus Jakobsson and Ari Juels were the ones who published the term ‘Proof of Work’ in a document. But nonetheless, Proof of Work is maybe the biggest idea behind Nakamoto’s Bitcoin white paper – allowing us a persistent transparent public append-only ledger. It is a mechanism of creating consensus between distributed parties. So you don´t need to trust each other but trust the system. In the following, we will explain to you the difference between Proof of Work vs Proof of Stake.

What is the Proof of Work?

Because not everyone in the network is honest, there has to be a way to prevent cheating. So to secure the Network, miners validate incoming transactions and note them in the block. They all compete by solving a complicated cryptographic puzzle. The solution found is proof that the miner has performed his work to validate the transaction. The first one to find the solution gets a reward. For example, he gets an Ether as payment. We call this process mining. You can use this process for two things in the network. The first one is to verify the legitimacy of a transaction. Secondly to create new digital currency by rewarding miners for performing the transaction.

Proof of Work vs Proof of Stake


This mathematical puzzle has a key feature, it is asymmetrical. That means that the puzzle must be hard to solve for the miners. But at the same time, it has to be easy for the network to check if the solution is correct. They can only solve the puzzle by randomly trying. This requires a huge number of attempts to get the right solution. If a miner finds the right solution, he announces it to the whole network and receives a reward. So the effort of a miner to validate and secure incoming transactions is called Proof of Work.

How does Proof of Work works?

A common puzzle method is to require that the hash digits of a block header have to be less than a target value. So, publishing nodes make many small changes to their block header trying to find a hash digest that meets the requirement. For each attempt, the node must compute the hash for the entire block header. Therefore, hashing the block header many times becomes an intensive process.

It is important to know, that the work put into a puzzle does not influence a miners likelihood of solving the current or future puzzles. The reason for that is because the puzzles are independent. This means that when a user receives a completed and valid block from another user, they have to discard their current work and to start building off the newly received block instead. They do this because they know the other publishing nodes will build their next block on top of the new received block.

Advantages of Proof of Work

The main advantage of proof of work is the protection of the blockchain network. So it secures and nobody can cheat. As a result, we can trust the system.
Also because the work put into a puzzle does not influence a miners’ likelihood of solving the current or future puzzles, nobody can trick the system.
And last, no matter how much money you have in your wallet only your computing power is important. As a result, holders of large capital can not make decisions for the entire network.

Disadvantages of Proof of Work

However, this process requires a ton of computing power. Proof of works gives more rewards to people with better equipment and connection. This means the higher your hash rate is, the better is the chance to be the first one that solves the mathematical puzzle. This led to a situation where people are building huge mining farms. Miners even come together to push their chances even further to so-called Ethereum ‘mining-pools’. All miners of the pools then receive an equal reward. So this is causing the blockchain to become more centralized. This also carries the risk of a 51% attack. Therefore we need to find a better way to validate a transaction with proof of work.

What is a 51% Blockchain attack?

A 51% attack is the attempt to control the blockchain network. So, a person or an organization tries to control 51% of the hash rate. As a result, they can change and reverse the transaction. They can also decide who is allowed to publish new blocks. So, they have control of the entire network.
A 51 percent attack is theoretically possible, but practically impossible because of nobody hast hat much computing power. Even if someone pulls it off, it wouldn’t be worth it. The reason for that is because once the network heard about it, everyone would leave the system.

What is Proof of Stake?

To avoid getting to centralized with the Proof of Work method, we need to find a better solution to validate and create blocks. For this purpose, they invented Proof of Stake. Proof of Stake is the effort of a miner to validate and secure incoming transactions. The miner is now called validator and is chosen in a deterministic way.

This model is based on the idea that the more someone invests in the system, the less they want to cheat. Stake is often an amount of cryptocurrency that the blockchain network user has invested in the system. so once staked, the cryptocurrency is generally no longer able to be spent.


To become a validator you have to deposit a certain amount of coins into the network as a stake. The size of this stake determines the chances of a validator to forge the next block. So the more you put in the higher your chances are.

Proof of Work vs Proof of Stake


That sounds unfair because it favors the ones who deposit the most money. But in reality, it’s by far fairer then Proof of Work. The price rich people pay for the mining equipment and electricity bills don’t go up in a linear fashion. Instead, the more they buy the cheaper it will get. That means the richer you are, the more power you have.

How does Proof of Stake works?

The methods for how the blockchain network uses the stake can vary. Here we discuss four approaches: Random selection of staked users, multi-round voting, coin aging systems, and delegate systems. so regardless of the exact approach, users with more stake are more likely to publish new blocks.

With random selection, the choice of a block publisher is a random choice. So, the blockchain network will look at all users with a stake. A validator is then selected based on the ratio of the coins used to the total amount.

When the choice of block publisher is a multi-round voting system, there is added complexity. So the blockchain network will select several staked users to create proposed blocks. Then all staked users will cast a vote for a proposed block. Several rounds of voting may occur before a new block is decided upon.

When the choice of block publisher is through a coin age system, staked cryptocurrency has an age property. After a certain amount of time the staked cryptocurrency can count towards the owning user being selected to publish the next block. So the staked cryptocurrency then has its age reset, and it cannot be used again until after the requisite time has passed.

When the choice of block publisher is through a delegate system, users vote for nodes to become publishing nodes, therefore creating blocks on their behalf. So blockchain network users voting power is tied to their stake so the larger the stake, the more weight the vote has.

Advantages of Proof of Stake

With Proof of Stake we don’t need a lot of computing power to secure our blockchain.
And because of that, we also do not need as many new coins in order to motivate nodes to participate in the network.
Proof of Stake can also reduce the risk of centralization. The reason for that is that economies of scale are much less of an issue.
And last, we can make it more expensive to take over the network. Therefore, we can prevent 51% attacks because there is no financial incentive anymore.

Disandvantages of Proof of Stake

There are some flaws in the Proof of Stake algorithm. Rich people will get chosen more often which means they will get more transaction fees. Making them richer and therefore increase the chance of being chosen as a validator. And even more problematic is that validator sometimes doesn’t show up to do their job. Therefore Proof of Stake is a better version then Proof of Work but still needs to be optimized.

Summarized:

  • Proof of Work is proof that the miner has performed his work to validate the transaction
  • Therefore, miners have to solve a complicated cryptographic
    puzzle
  • As a result, is wasteful and inefficient
  • Proof of Stake chooses the creator of a new block in a deterministic way which depends on its wealth
  • Proof of Stake is a better version then Proof of Work but still needs to be optimized.

If you want to be informed about the latest updates, follow us on Facebook, Pinterest and Steemit.

Stay current on your favorite topics

This Post Has 2 Comments

  1. Kai

    Rob, many thanks for the explanation. What still puzzles me: We all know that “money makes the world go around”, so it does need a financial reward to attract enough miners in a PoS system. And, as you note, in PoWs, it is some sort of transaction fees which serves the purpose.
    So far, so good. But now we have a conflict: On one hand, a blockchain needs a lot of participants to mitigate on the problem of potential 50%-attacks, but on the other hand, the incentive scheme described for PoWs also privilege the rich (and make them even richer).

    But why is this? As you described, it would be enough that the stake at risk for a miner is higher that his potential reward. So this is just a _relative_ figure, not an _absolute_ one!? e.g., say that a miner puts $10 at risk for his PoS mining work, but only receives a reward of $0.01 per transaction. Obviously, you don’t have to be rich to invest $10, but the community would still be save as long as a detection of malbehavior could be detected & managed by the blockchain before that fraudulent miner could finalize more than 10/0.01=1000 transactions.

    -Shouldn’t it be possible to protect a PoS system with just such a “relative” backstop scheme? That way, literally each participant of a PoS chain could afford to be a validator/himself also, which would immediately lead to a large active validator community protecting the overall blockchain this way?

    1. Rob

      Hey Kai,

      that´s an awesome question!

      It is quite difficult to answer this complex question in a view words.

      Short Answer: It is a relative figure, but has a minimum limit. At the beginning it was around 32 ETH, now it is around 1500 ETH.
      You also risk your deposit for every single transaction. Therefore, risking 1500 Eth for a 0,1€ transaction wouldn’t be smart and you have to risk your 1500 Eth also for the next 0,1 € transaction.

      If you want a more detailed answer, write as at Nirolution@gmail.com

      I hope you have a great day!

Leave a Reply

Close Menu